Back

Open Air Cinema Paris – all facts, tipps and how to get tickets

Summer isn’t the right time to see a movie? Not if you’re in Paris. Here you can watch all your favorite movies under the warm summer sky at several locations in the city. In this article we have collected all open air cinema spots in Paris and tell you everything you need to know about it.

Paris open air cinema 2019 | © Pixabay

Paris is known for its artsy cinema scene and celebrates it rightfully so. Who doesn’t love a good movie starring Alain Delon, Gérard Depardieu or Marion Cotillard? And it gets even better under a starry summer sky in one of Paris’ beautiful open air cinemas (cinema en plein air). The entry to all of these events is free!

Open air cinema at La Villette

Just relax in your deck chair, have your drink and snacks ready and enjoy the movie played on the big screen at the Cinéma en plein air à la Villette in the 19th Arrondissement. Every summer the open air cinema follows a new motto and shows classic French movies as well as international classics. There will also play some more unkown movies as well as short films.

This year’s 29th edition of the open air cinema will take place from 17 July until 18 August 2019 in the parc of la Villette at the Prairie du triangle. You can enter at 7 pm and the movies will probably start playing between 9:30 and 10:30 pm when it gets dark.

Program

Movies will be shown in the original version with French subtitles unless otherwise stated (VF – French Version):

 

Wednesday, 17 July – Blade Runner 2049

Thursday, 18 July – Karaoke night by arte

Friday, 19 July – Demain

Saturday, 20 July – Ponyo sur la falaise (children’s evening) (VF)

Sunday, 21 July – Jeremiah Johnson

Wednesday, 24 July – Petit Paysan

Thursday, 25 July – La Tortue rouge

Friday, 26 July – Her

Saturday, 27 July – Bienvenue à Gattaca; short film: Avant que de tout perdre

Sunday, 28 July – Le Temps moderns

Wednesday, 31 July – La Fille du 14 juillet

Thursday, 1 August – Captain Fantastic

Friday, 2 August – Snowpiercer, le Transperceneige

Saturday, 3 August – Wall-E (VF); short film: La Fugue

Sunday, 4 August – Et au milieu coule une rivière

Wednesday, 7 August – Le Congrès

Thursday, 8 August – Oslo 31 août

Friday, 9 August – L’Ile aux chiens (VF)

Saturday, 10 August – Ready Player one; short film: Corps perdu

Sunday, 11 August – Horizons perdus

Wednesday, 14 August – Les Glaneurs et la glaneuse

Thursday, 15 August – Erin Brockovich, seule contre tous

Friday, 16 August – Le Fils de l’homme

Saturday, 17 August – Under the skin; short film: Je sens le beat qui monte en moi

Sunday, 18 August – Blade Runner

La Chaise et l’Écran

In Paris’ 11th Arrondissement there will be several little open air cinemas in different places this summer. The festival “La Chaise et l’Ecran” celebrates the little gardens and streets of this arrondissement by showing the greatest movie classics there. You have to bring your own chairs so you can really have the living room feeling under the Parisian sky.

The program will follow in a few days but it is already planned to show short films prior to the main movies. La Chaise et l’Ecran will take place from 26 July to 9 August 2019. Two locations are already confirmed: The Town Hall of the 11th Arrondissement and the Jardin de la Folie Titon.

Festival Silhouette

Since 2002 the association Silhouette has been organizing open air cinemas in the 12th Arrondissement in Paris. It shows a carefully curated selection of short films for a week. It aims to surprise and shock its audience with thought-provoking movie subjects and designs. The festival Silhouette is one of France’s most important short film festivals as it has created famous directors and actors. There will also be some concerts to listen to. The program will be released on their website in a few weeks. This year the festival will take place from 30 August until 7 September.

Films sous les étoiles

From 27 June to the 29 June you have the opportunity to watch three different movies at Saint-Cloud. Before each of the movies there will be shown four short films created by young winners of the IESA Video Award. You can bring your own food and have a pique nique, buy food at the location or eat in one of the restaurants there. The projection will start at 10 pm.

Program

Thursday, 27 June 

Short films:

Maintenant on peut mourir en paix

Le Premier Pas

CAP

Le Songe

Main movie:

La famille Tenenbaum

 

Friday, 28 June

Short films:

My psycho fan

NoFilter

Une lumière dans la nuit

Je suis Gigi Bang Bang

Main movie:

Three billboards

 

Saturday, 29 June

Short films:

Indic

Dies Irae

A tout prix

La dernière part

Main movie:

Un air de famille

Festival Toile sous les étoiles

One of the most popular open air cinemas in Paris is the one in the main courtyard of the Château in Vincennes. From 4 July until 6 July you can watch three beautiful movies for free in the most stunning setting of the city.

Program:

Thursday, 4 July – Au revoir là-haut

Friday, 5 July – La la land

Saturday, 6 July – La famille Bélier

 

If you want to know more about all the events that Paris has to offer you can subscribe to our Paris Ticket Alert in order to stay up to date about all events, festivals and concerts in the French capital:

Paris Ticket Alert

Similar Blog Posts